Skip to content
Kadoo by Inovia Get Kadoo

Compare

English apps for kids with no ads and no data collection (2026)

Of twelve popular English learning apps for children, none shows ads, but only three have an App Store privacy label of "Data Not Collected": Kadoo, Monkey Junior and Gus on the Go. The others collect some data, from diagnostics that aren't linked to your family to contact details and identifiers that are. One, Lingokids, lists identifiers "used to track you". We checked every app's US App Store page on 25 October 2026. We make Kadoo, one of the three.

Kadoo's town by the sea, with the Kadoo sign, a puppy and six Explorers

What the privacy label means

Every app on the App Store has an "App Privacy" section on its page, filled in by the developer. Apple notes that the developer "indicated" these practices; Apple doesn't audit them. The label sorts data into three groups:

  • Data Used to Track You: data linked with data from other companies' apps and websites, for advertising or measurement, or shared with data brokers.
  • Data Linked to You: data connected to your identity, such as an account, a device or contact details.
  • Data Not Linked to You: data collected without being connected to your identity, often crash reports and usage statistics.

"Data Not Collected" means the developer says the app collects nothing at all.

The twelve apps, side by side

AppAdsAccountApp Store privacy label
KadooNoneNoneData Not Collected
Monkey JuniorNot stated (no "Contains ads" label on Google Play)Not foundData Not Collected
Gus on the Go: EnglishNoneNoneData Not Collected
Khan Academy KidsNoneRequiredNot linked to you: Contact Info, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics
DinolingoNoneNot confirmedNot linked to you: Purchases, Contact Info, Identifiers
Novakid (parent app)Not statedRequired for lessonsNot linked to you: Identifiers
Duolingo ABCNoneOptionalLinked to you: Usage Data, Diagnostics
StudycatNoneOptionalLinked to you: Contact Info, User Content. Not linked: Purchases, Location, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics
Les Mini Mondes Explorers (Pili Pop)NoneNot foundLinked to you: Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data. Not linked: Location, User Content, Usage Data, Diagnostics
Buddy.aiNoneOptionalLinked to you: Purchases, Contact Info, User Content, Usage Data, Diagnostics, Other Data. Not linked: Identifiers
EWA KidsNoneNot foundLinked to you: Purchases, Location, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics, Other Data
LingokidsNoneRequiredUsed to track you: Identifiers. Linked to you: Purchases, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics

Sources for each row are listed below. Labels can change with any update, so check the app's page before you download.

Does "no data" matter for a young child?

Collecting some data isn't wrong in itself. Crash reports help developers fix problems, and an account lets progress follow a child across devices. Apps that use the microphone for speaking practice need voice input to work. In the United States, apps for children under 13 must follow COPPA, whose updated rule took effect in June 2025 and requires a parent's consent before children's data is shared with third parties (Federal Register, 22 April 2025). Apple's rules for the Kids category also bar third-party advertising and most third-party analytics.

Still, some families prefer an app where nothing about their child leaves the device. If that's you, look for "Data Not Collected" on the App Store page, no account to create, and an app that works offline.

The three with no data collected

Kadoo (ours). An English learning game for ages 4 to 8 who don't speak English yet: nearly 1,000 everyday words in a painted town, letters and their sounds, numbers to 100 and 48 songs. No account, no analytics, no camera, microphone or location, and it works offline. Progress stays on the device. A subscription opens the whole town; the house is free with no time limit. Questions and answers.

Monkey Junior. English from birth to age 11, with flashcards, phonics and speech recognition, offline after downloading lessons. A "1-year" plan is listed at $29.99 on the US App Store. App Store.

Gus on the Go: English. A small app with nearly 90 words for toddlers and preschoolers, a one-time $3.99, with "no ads, in-app purchases, links, tracking or sharing functions". App Store.

For how these and the other apps differ on what they teach, see the best apps for kids learning English as a second language.

Sources

App Store pages, US store, all seen 25 October 2026: Kadoo, Monkey Junior, Gus on the Go: English, Khan Academy Kids, Dinolingo, Novakid English school, Duolingo ABC, Studycat, Les Mini Mondes Explorers, Buddy.ai, EWA Kids, Lingokids.

Accounts: Khan Academy Kids help, Lingokids help, Studycat help, Buddy.ai FAQ, Duolingo ABC on Common Sense Media, Novakid prices.

We recheck this page every three months. If something here is out of date, write to kadoo@inoviatech.io and we'll correct it.

Kadoo is free to download.

For iPhone and iPad, and Macs with Apple silicon. The house is free to play; Kadoo Full Access or Kadoo Family Plus opens the whole town.

Download on the App Store